Alabama has one of the highest percentages of seniors in the country with 13% of the state over 65 years of age. The low cost of living and low health care costs make it one of the most affordable states in the nation. The larger cities like Birmingham, Mobile, Montgomery and Huntsville have a wide selection of facilities while many of the smaller cities may only have one option.
Cost of Assisted Living in Alabama
The median cost of assisted living in Alabama is $3,149. The cost of assisted living in across the state of Alabama will vary from roughly $1,690 to $7,350, depending on location, amenities and services provided. These costs are derived from A Place for Mom’s unique data, comprised of thousands of actual transactions.
Alabama Assisted Living Regulation Agency
Top Cities in Alabama with Assisted Living
Monthly costs in neighboring states
All cities offering Assisted Living
Assisted Living Rules and Regulations in Alabama
Assisted Living Terms
- Assisted living: A community that offers care to two or more people
- Specialty Care Assisted Living facilities: Facilities that are licensed to offer memory care
- Regular license: A standard assisted living license
- Probational license : A community is granted a probational license when the operators ability to offer care is “questionable” but not to the level that residents health or safety is endangered.
Required Training for Staff
- Assisted living facility administrators:
- Minimum of six hours continuing education annually.
- Initial training covers state law and rules, identifying and reporting abuse, special needs, basic first aid, patient confidentiality, nutrition, fire and environmental safety.
- All administrators are required to be licensed by the Alabama Board of Examiners of Assisted Living Administration
- General: At least one person on staff at all times must have a CPR certification from the American Heart Association or American Red Cross.
Overnight Staffing Laws
- Facilities are expected to have 2-11 people on staff overnight, depending on the number of residents.
- At least one of those staff members must be CPR certified.
Eviction Laws and Resident Protections
A resident can be forced to leave a facility if the resident has health or safety needs beyond the facility’s capability, or if the resident needs mechanical restraint or seclusion. In our research, we did not find any laws that address rules for facilities and extra service charges or hidden fees.
- The fire alarms and sprinkler systems must be inspected at least semiannually. All assisted living facilities must comply with the building code and National Fire Protection Association and Life Safety Code.
- A maximum of two residents are allowed per room.
Sources and Links
Find Assisted Living