Arkansas has one of the highest populations of seniors in the country according to the 2010 U.S. Census. The low cost of living makes it an attractive place to retire.
The Arkansas Department of Human Services, Office of Long-Term Care is responsible for inspection of assisted living facilities. They perform inspections on an annual basis.
Cost of Assisted Living in Arkansas
According to the 2012 A Place for Mom Senior Living Costs Survey, the median monthly cost to live in an assisted living one bedroom apartment in Arkansas is $3,279.
Top Cities in Arkansas
Assisted Living Rules and Regulations in Arkansas
Assisted Living Terms Used in Arkansas
There are two levels of licensing in Arkansas, Level I or Level II. Level II facilities can admit and retain residents who have a need for a nursing facility.
- Level 1: Regular assisted living license
- Level 2: Able to provide some skilled nursing services.
Required Training for Staff
- Each administrator must b at least 21 years old, must have a high school diploma or equivalent, must successfully complete a criminal background check and must be certified as an Assisted Living Facility Administrator.
- All staff that has direct contact with residents and all food service personnel must receive at least six hours per year of continuing education. Within seven calendar days of being hired, all direct care staff members must have training on safety and emergency measures, abuse and neglect reporting, sanitation and food safety, resident health, independent living principles and resident rights.
Overnight Staffing Laws
Depending on the number of residents in the facility, 1 -2 direct care staff are required to be present overnight.
Eviction Laws and Resident Protections
Residents can be forced to move out if they are unable to get out of bed unassisted, develop a need for medication administration that cannot be performed by the facility or if they have a need for transfer assistance the facility cannot provide. The State of Arkansas has published a Resident Bill of Rights which must be posted in a prominent place in each facility. These rights include but are not limited to, freedom from physical or mental abuse, permission to participate in activities, be provided a schedule of individual and group activities, not be prevented from practicing religion, be treated with respect, kindness, consideration and dignity and speaking in his or her native language.
The Assisted Living Facility has to develop and maintain a quality assessment unit which meets quarterly to identify issues where action may be necessary. Each facility must be in compliance with all local and federal building codes, fire codes and safety codes.
Private Payment Laws
If a facility deposits personal allowance funds, the funds must be deposited in individual or collective interest bearing, federally insured bank accounts.
Sources and Links
Find Assisted Living