Cost of Assisted Living in New Mexico
According to the 2012 A Place for Mom Senior Living Costs Survey, the median monthly cost to live in an assisted living one bedroom apartment in New Mexico is $3,009.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It is not intended to indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.
New Mexico Assisted Facility Licensing and Regulation
The New Mexico Health Facilities Licensing and Certification Bureau performs annual inspections of assisted living facilities.
To file a complaint against an assisted living facility in New Mexico, contact the Department of Health at 800-752-8649.
Best Places to Retire 2012
Santa Fe New Mexico: 325 days of sunshine per year, art scene, opera, 8 major golf courses in the area. (CNN Money Best Places to Retire Now 2012)
Las Cruces New Mexico: 287 days of sunshine per year. A small town with big-city amenities. (AARP Best Places to Live on $100 a Day)
Top Cities in New Mexico
Monthly costs in neighboring states
All cities offering Assisted Living
Assisted Living Rules and Regulations in New Mexico
State regulatory agencies often provide great insight into the background and reports of assisted living communities, helping consumers to make an educated decision on senior care for themselves or a loved one. However, public access to these records differ depending on which state the facility is located. Learn more about assisted living records in New Mexico.
Public Records and License Status
New Mexico is highly transparent and ranks in the top 25% of states when it comes to accessibility of senior living records.
To find information about licensed assisted living facilities in New Mexico go to New Mexico’s Provider Search Form. Choose “assisted living facility” as the provider type. When the results populate, you can narrow your search by location.
Violations and Resident Protection
New Mexico provides a searchable list of licensed assisted living facilities as well as information about inspections, complaints, violations and survey results. All information appears to be updated within 90 days. The state also provides information about special licensing care, capacity information, payment types accepted and contact information. They do not provide information about pricing at each facility.
New Mexico does not have a requirement for frequency of inspections but can fine facilities if needed.