Seniors currently make up 12% of Arizona’s total population. Many are no longer able to live on their own, and family members are unable to meet their daily needs. Assisted Living in Arizona has become a viable solution for many families struggling to properly care for elderly parents or loved ones.
While many seniors are able to perform daily tasks, such as dressing, cooking, and cleaning, directed care can be helpful in situations where the resident does not recognize danger, or is forgetful about taking prescribed medications. These problems alone do not warrant care in a nursing home setting, but speak to a need for daily assistance.
Isolation is endemic to aging, often times because public transportation is difficult to negotiate, and the senior may no longer drive. Arizona offers free transportation to seniors for shopping, doctors appointments, grave visitation, and other activities vital to the well being of the resident.
The Department of Health Services (DHS) regulates requirements for safety and cleanliness in senior care facilities throughout Arizona. Inspections take place annually and are filed with the DHS; reports are available to the public upon request. Facilities are required to meet local fire codes, ordinances, zoning requirements, and building codes. Private and shared bedrooms must meet minimum space requirements, with a two resident maximum per shared bedroom.
In Arizona, the average cost per individual for assisted living is around $2800 per month, though costs can range anywhere from $1,100 to $6,000 per month depending on the facility, optional services, and additional provisions.
At most senior care centers, the staff is trained in basic medical assistance. This is not the same type of intensive care given in nursing homes, but assures a prepared staff who can assist in the event of a medical problem. Facilities strive to coordinate consistent care with the resident’s regular physican.
Top Cities in Arizona
Assisted Living Rules and Regulations in Arizona
Assisted Living Terms Used in Arizona
Assisted Living Facility, Assisted Living Home and Assisted Living Center
Assisted Living License Types
There are three levels of licensure: supervisory care services, personal care services and directed care services.
Required Training for Staff
Caregivers and managers are required to complete 62 hours of education and training before working at a licensed facility. Each manager and caregiver must obtain First Aid training and CPR training.
Each facility needs to ensure there are sufficient staff members consistent with the level of care that will meet the needs of each resident at all times. A personnel schedule must be maintained for at least 12 months from the last date on the schedule.
Any extra service charges need to be clearly outlined in the residency agreement. Residents must be notified 30 days in advance of any change to a fee.
The Assisted Living Facility must comply with all local building codes, fire codes and zoning requirements. There should not be more than two residents in a unit and each unit must have a window or door to the outside.
Private Payment Laws
A private payment may not exceed the amount of one month’s rent. The deposit must be maintained in a separate bank account.
Links and Sources
Find Assisted Living