Cost of Assisted Living in Maine
According to the 2012 A Place for Mom Senior Living Costs Survey, the median monthly cost to live in an assisted living one bedroom apartment in Maine is $4,498.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It is not intended to indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.
Top Cities in Maine
Monthly costs in neighboring states
All cities offering Assisted Living
Assisted Living Rules and Regulations in Maine
When it comes to finding quality assisted living care many consumers rely on information provided by state regulatory agencies. Insight into violations, inspections, complaints and survey results are often made available online through the state to help consumers make educated decisions regarding senior care. However, the amount of information available differs in each state. Learn more about the transparency of assisted living records in Maine.
Public Records and License Status
Maine provides a list of licensed communities online but does include information about inspections or violations available online.
To obtain a list of licensed providers go to Maine’s Department of Health and Human Services. Additional community types are available at the State of Maine’s website. To learn specific information regarding communities visit www.eldercare.gov and contact the appropriate long-term-care ombudsmen who can provide more details about each community. Consumers can also make a request through the Freedom of Information Act.
Violations and Resident Protection
Maine provides an accurate and current list of searchable licensed communities online but they do not provide information regarding inspections, complaints, survey results or violations online. They do provide a variety of other information including special licensing, capacity, payment types and contact information. Maine does not provide pricing for each facility.
Maine conducts inspections every 24 months and can fine facilities found in non-compliance.