Cost of Assisted Living in Michigan
According to the 2012 A Place for Mom Senior Living Costs Survey, the median monthly cost to live in an assisted living one bedroom apartment in Michigan is $2,927.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It is not intended to indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.
Top Cities in Michigan
Monthly costs in neighboring states
All cities offering Assisted Living
Assisted Living Rules and Regulations in Michigan
When searching for quality assisted living care for yourself or a loved one, state regulatory agencies can provide great insight into the backgrounds of potential communities. However, transparency and accessibility to assisted living records varies depending on the policies of each state. Learn more about finding assisted living records in Michigan.
Public Records and License Status
Michigan offers exceptional openness and transparency into assisted living records. Records are available online for up to two years. Consumers can obtain information concerning facilities earlier than two years by submitting a Freedom of Information Act request.
To find a list of assisted living communities visit Michigan’s Statewide Search for Adult Foster Care and Homes for the Aged. From there, you can narrow your search or leave all fields blank to see a complete list of providers. Click the provider you are searching to see detailed background information.
Violations and Resident Protection
Michigan offers an accurate, current and searchable list of licensed assisted living communities online. At the same online location, the state offers information surrounding inspections, complaints, survey results and violations. All information is updated within 90 days. The state also provides information about special licensing for care and capacity information. They do not provide information about payment types accepted at facilities, contact information or pricing information for care.
Michigan performs inspections every 24 months and can fine facilities.
Sources and Links
AssistedLiving.com works with assisted living communities that are duly licensed by the applicable state or provincial agency. Michigan does not require every assisted living community to be licensed. Michigan law requires a license for assisted living communities that provide these three services: personal care, meals, and supervision for 24 hours a day for five or more days a week. Assisted living communities that provide only two of these services and use a third-party service to provide the third service are not required to have a license to operate. As with all states, we encourage our families to tour and ask questions of each community to ensure that the family selects the one that best meets their specific needs.