Cost of Assisted Living in Tennessee
According to the 2012 A Place for Mom Senior Living Costs Survey, the median monthly cost to live in an assisted living one bedroom apartment in Tennessee is $2,913.
A Place for Mom uses the term “assisted living” to indicate that the community provides some level of assistance with daily living activities. It is not intended to indicate that the facility meets official state requirements for level of care.
Top Cities in Tennessee
Monthly costs in neighboring states
All cities offering Assisted Living
Assisted Living Rules and Regulations in Tennessee
Finding quality assisted living care for yourself or a loved one can be stressful. Fortunately, many state agencies offer public access to assisted living records that can inform consumers on the history of a facility. However, access to these records differ depending on the state. Here’s a closer look at the accessibility of assisted living records in Tennessee.
Public Records and License Status
Tennessee provides moderate transparency into assisted living records. While they do provide information about inspections and violations online, the information is not searchable.
To ensure a community is licensed, visit the current search or history search form on Tennessee’s Department of Health website. To get more information about a provider, visit Tennessee’s senior community Disciplinary Action page.
Violations and Resident Protection
Tennessee does provide a current list of searchable licensed assisted living communities online as well as inspections, complaints, survey results and violation information. All information is updated within 90 days but violation information is not searchable. Also, enforcement information is not located in the same place online as the list of licensed communities, adding another step for consumers in their search.
Tennessee provides information about special licensing for care, capacity information and contact information for facilities. They do not give information on pricing or payment options.
The state conducts inspections every 15 months and can fine communities for violations.