Connecticut is one of the most expensive places to retire in the country with its high cost of health care and housing.
Cost of Assisted Living in Connecticut
According to the 2012 A Place for Mom Senior Living Costs Survey, the median monthly cost to live in an assisted living one bedroom apartment in Connecticut is $4,550.
Top Cities in Connecticut
Monthly costs in neighboring states
All cities offering Assisted Living
Assisted Living Rules and Regulations in Connecticut
State regulatory agencies can help consumers find high quality assisted living care. Many state provide accurate and current information online to help consumers make informed decisions when it comes to finding care fore yourself or a loved one. Accessibility and transparency into these records differ between states. Take a closer look at accessing assisted living records in Connecticut.
Public Records and License Status
Overall, we found that Connecticut provides moderate accessibility to records. While records are fairly transparent, inspections are only performed every two years and they are one of the few states that does not have the ability to fine assisted living communities.
To find a list of licensed assisted living facilities in Connecticut visit the State of Connecticut’s licensing website and select “look up a license” on the menu on the left. For license type, choose “assisted living service agency” and you will be able to narrow your search further.
Additional records about violations can be found at Connecticut Health Care Facility Regulatory Action Orders.
Violations and Resident Protection
Connecticut provides a searchable list of licensed assisted living facilities that is updated frequently online. Additionally, they also provide a searchable way to find for information surrounding violations, inspections, complaints and survey results. All information is updated within 90 days. They also show information about special licensing but do not show capacity information, payment types, administrator contact information, or the pricing of the facility.
Connecticut performs inspections every 24 months and is not able to fine facilities.
Sources and Links