Cost of Assisted Living in North Carolina
According to the 2012 A Place for Mom Senior Living Costs Survey, the median monthly cost to live in an assisted living one bedroom apartment in North Carolina is $3,184
Top Cities in North Carolina
Assisted Living Rules and Regulations in North Carolina
Assisted Living Terms and Licensing in North Carolina
- Adult Care Home: Provides three meals a day and has standards more rigorous than a multiunit assisted housing facility
- Multiunit Assisted Housing Facility: Offers at least one meals a day and are not allowed to accept residents with high care needs
Required Staff Training
- Direct care staff members must complete at least 80 hours of training and medication aides must complete at least six hour of continuing education.
- Training must cover observation and documentation, social care, basic nursing skills, restorative services and resident rights.
- At least one staff member must be in the facility at all times when there is a resident present.
- The overnight shift must ensure at least 8 hours of aide duty per 30 residents.
Eviction Laws and Resident Protections
- Residents may be evicted if the resident develops a need for continuous licensed nursing care, if the facility is no longer able to meet the resident’s health needs or if the resident is dependent on a ventilator.
- Residents are guaranteed rights through the Adult Care Home Bill of Rights that include the right to be treated with respect and dignity, the right to control finances, the right to communicate with loved ones and the right to confidentiality.
Facilities must provide a disclosure statement to prospective residents that include charges for any extra services.
- Inspections are completed by the Department of Social Services for each county.
- Inspections are completed annually and monitored on a quarterly basis.
Private Payment and Medicaid
Sources and Links
Find Assisted Living