Cost of Assisted Living in Minnesota
According to the 2012 A Place for Mom Senior Living Costs Survey, the median monthly cost to live in an assisted living one bedroom apartment in Minnesota is $2,981.
Top Cities in Minnesota
Monthly costs in neighboring states
All cities offering Assisted Living
Assisted Living Rules and Regulations in Minnesota
Assisted Living Terms Used in Minnesota
Housing with Services Establishment
Assisted Living License Types
- All housing with services establishments must have a standard license.
- Houses offering Alzheimer’s care may require additional licensing.
Required Training for Staff
- All direct care staff must have an orientation which includes an overview of state health statutes, emergency procedures, the home care bill of rights and handling client complaints.
- Unlicensed personnel must complete at least 8 hours of in service training during every year of employment.
- Houses with services must have a person available 24 hours a day, seven days a week to respond to the requests of assisted living clients.
- The person must be awake, located in the same building, capable of communicating with clients, capable of recognizing the need for assistance and capable of following directions.
Any extra service charges need to be clearly outlined in the residency agreement. Residents must be notified 30 days in advance of any change to a fee.
Eviction Laws and Resident Protections
- It is up to each facility to determine the criteria residents must meet to continue to reside in elderly housing.
- The criteria must be stated in the move in contract.
- Minnesota guarantees certain resident rights through the Minnesota Home Care Bill of Rights.
- These rights include the right to be made aware of any changes in service, the right to refuse service, the right to confidentiality and the right to be free from physical and mental abuse.
The Minnesota’s Department of Health performs annual inspections of all assisted living facilities in the state.
Links and Sources
Find Assisted Living